• 2525 Quail Drive, Baton Rouge, 70808
  • (225) 765-2301

Click here for our brochure. Many of your questions can be answered by reviewing our brochure.

Click here for “A Guide to Obtaining your License”

 

General Licensing Questions

FAQs for General Licensing Questions

Who is the owner of the license?

The license belongs to the licensee, as: a corporate license belongs to the corporation; a partnership license belongs to the partnership; a limited liability company license belongs to the limited liability company, etc.; and an individual license belongs to the individual, regardless of the status of the qualifying party of the entity.

How long will it take to get a license?

On average, it takes 4 weeks for an in-state license to be issued and 8 weeks for an out-of-state license to be issued.  There is a sixty-day waiting period for out-of-state contractors, which begins on the date the application is received.  The amount of time required to process a license depends on several factors, including whether or not all required paperwork and fees are submitted and the required exam(s) are passed.

I’ve submitted my application. Can I bid a job/start work before my license is issued?

A contractor’s license or registration is required before you can bid, contract, or perform work. Click HERE for additional information about each type of license/registration.

Does the Licensing Board issue temporary licenses?

There are no provisions in the Louisiana Contractor’s License Law to allow for a “temporary” license

I want to do a joint venture with a licensed Louisiana contractor. How does that work?

All parties in a joint venture are required to be licensed at the time the bid is submitted.  Each party to the joint venture may only perform within the applicable classifications of the work of which he is properly classified to perform. (Section 1103 of the Rules and Regulations of the Board)

 

 

Does a subcontractor have to be licensed?

A subcontractor who wishes to bid or perform commercial work where the total cost of the project including labor and materials for the following must be licensed with this Board:

  • $50,000 or more for major and specialty classifications
  • $10,000 or more for electrical, mechanical, and plumbing
  • $1 or more for hazardous 

A subcontractor who wishes to bid or perform residential work (new construction) where the total cost of the project including labor and materials in the amount of $7,500 or more must be properly licensed with this Board.

As a supplier/manufacturer, do I have to have a license?

If you are just furnishing material or equipment, you are considered a manufacturer or supplier, and no license is required.  Under normal circumstances, a supplier can ship the product to a jobsite with no further involvement on the project.  However, if you bid to furnish and install, even if you plan to hire a licensed contractor to do the installation for you, your firm is required to hold a license.

I want to perform Construction Management jobs. What must I do?

Any licensed contractor with any of the following major classifications shall be able to bid and perform any such project specified for construction and/or program management within the scope of the classification(s) they hold: Building Construction or Heavy Construction or Highway, Street, and Bridge Construction or Municipal and Public Works Construction. (Section 119 of the Rules and Regulations of the Board)

 

 

Can I legally build a structure on property that I own without holding a license?

Louisiana State Contractors’ licensing law allows an owner to build their primary residence without a license. You must live in this home. You cannot build a home to rent or sell without a license. Louisiana State Contractors’ licensing law also allows an owner to build structures adjacent to their primary residence without a license, such as a shed. Visit your local permit office to obtain permits and a homeowner exemption form.

If you wish to build a home/dwelling on property you own that will not be used as your primary residence a licensed general contractor and any subcontractors on the project must be licensed.

I have an occupational license from my local city/parish office. Do I need a state contractor’s license?

An occupational license is NOT a contractor’s license. An occupational license only gives you or your company the authority to operate a business in that city/parish and it’s generally for local sales tax purposes.

 

A Louisiana state contractor’s license/registration is required if you contract, bid, or perform work where to total project value including labor and materials exceeds the  minimum threshold to hold a commercial license, residential license, mold remediation license, or an home improvement registration in the state of Louisiana. Information about each license or registration, the minimum threshold amounts, and the requirements for licensure please see our License Types and Information page at: http://www.lslbc.louisiana.gov/license-types-and-information/.

My company is registered with the Louisiana Secretary of State’s office. Do I need to do anything further to perform construction work in Louisiana?

Registration with the Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office does not qualify you to perform construction work in Louisiana. Being registered with the Louisiana Secretary of State’s office only gives your company the authority to operate a business in Louisiana and also generally for state sales tax purposes.

 

A Louisiana state contractor’s license/registration is required if you contract, bid, or perform work where to total project value including labor and materials exceeds the  minimum threshold to hold a commercial license, residential license, mold remediation license, or an home improvement registration in the state of Louisiana. Information about each license or registration, the minimum threshold amounts, and the requirements for licensure please see our License Types and Information page at: http://www.lslbc.louisiana.gov/license-types-and-information/.

I hold my contractor’s license in one name, but do business in a different name. Can I advertise, bid or contract in a different name other than what’s on my license?

All bids, contracts, and advertisements must be in your properly licensed name. If you use a DBA, you must contract in your properly licensed name but you may add the name of your DBA behind the licensed name.

 

Example 1: If John Doe Smith holds a license in his individual name, he can bid, contract and perform work using a DBA as follows: John Doe Smith DBA Smith Contractors.

 

Example 2: If John Doe Smith holds a license in his individual name, the license in his individual name is not valid for his company John Smith LLC. John Smith LLC will need a license in its own name.

 

Example 3: If John Smith LLC holds a license in the company’s name but wants to operate using a DBA. The company can bid, contract and perform work using a DBA as follows: John Smith LLC DBA Smith Contractors.

 

Can I build a single residential home with a Commercial license?

A Commercial license does not allow you to build a single residential home. A Residential license with the Residential Building Contractor classification is required for new home construction.

Do I also need a license with the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors if I have a master plumber license with the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana?

If you are performing plumbing work valued at $10,000 or more including labor and materials, the law requires that you also hold a commercial plumbing license with the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors.

I am performing construction work where my contract involves labor only. Do I need a contractor’s license with the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors?

When determining if a contractor’s license is needed, the law requires that the cost of labor and materials be combined to assess the total project amount (no matter who supplies the materials). If the total project amount exceeds $50,000 for commercial projects, $10,000 for plumbing, electrical & HVAC, and $7,500 for residential projects, a contractor’s license is required.

LSLBC does have Subcontract Labor Only specialty classifications for commercial and residential subcontractors who perform labor only and do not bid on or manage projects. There are no trade exams for subcontract labor only specialty classifications. A commercial or residential application is required along with a subcontract labor only form to be completed by the subcontractor and a licensed general contractor. (See links below.)

 

Application Questions

FAQs for Applications

What are the specific insurance requirements for Residential license?

The board requires home improvement, residential, and mold remediation applicants to submit proof of insurance coverage before a license or registration can be issued. You must maintain continuous insurance coverage while holding an active license or registration. You must provide current insurance certificates to the board upon expiration. Failure to submit these documents can cause the board to take action.

Coverage Amount: Proof by certificate of current general liability insurance in the amount of $100,000 and worker’s compensation insurance
   
 Insured: Must have the correct name of the company or individual applying for the license/registration on the certificate.
   
 Certificate Holder: State Licensing Board for Contractors
2525 Quail Drive
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
   
Description of Operations:

“The Commercial General Liability Policy represented on this Certificate of Insurance provides general liability coverage for (the specific trade(s))  operations subject to the terms and conditions of the policy.”

Specific trade(s) examples include: residential home contracting, residential swimming pools, residential pile driving, residential foundations, residential framing, residential roofing or residential masonry/stucco.

 

   
Effective/Expiration dates and limits of coverage must be shown on the certificate.
   
The insurance agent MUST email the certificate of insurance to: insurance@lslbc.louisiana.gov

 

What are the specific insurance requirements for Mold Remediation license?

The board requires home improvement, residential, and mold remediation applicants to submit proof of insurance coverage before a license or registration can be issued. You must maintain continuous insurance coverage while holding an active license or registration. You must provide current insurance certificates to the board upon expiration. Failure to submit these documents can cause the board to take action.

Coverage Amount: Proof by certificate of current general liability insurance in the amount of $50,000 and worker’s compensation insurance
   
 Insured: Must have the correct name of the company or individual applying for the license/registration on the certificate.
   
 Certificate Holder: State Licensing Board for Contractors
2525 Quail Drive
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
   
Description of Operations:

“The general liability policy covers mold remediation contracting.”

   
Effective/Expiration dates and limits of coverage must be shown on the certificate.
   
The insurance agent MUST email the certificate of insurance to: insurance@lslbc.louisiana.gov

 

What are the specific insurance requirements for a Home Improvement registration?

The board requires residential, home improvement, and mold remediation applicants to submit proof of insurance coverage before a license or registration can be issued. You must maintain continuous insurance coverage while holding an active license or registration. You must provide current insurance certificates to the board upon expiration. Failure to submit these documents can cause the board to take action.

Coverage Amount: Proof by certificate of current general liability insurance in the amount of $100,000 and worker’s compensation insurance
   
 Insured: Must have the correct name of the company or individual applying for the license/registration on the certificate.
   
 Certificate Holder: State Licensing Board for Contractors
2525 Quail Drive
Baton Rouge, LA 70808
   
Description of Operations:

“The Commercial General Liability Policy represented on this Certificate of Insurance provides general liability coverage for home improvement contracting operations subject to the terms and conditions of the policy.”

   
Effective/Expiration dates and limits of coverage must be shown on the certificate.
   
The insurance agent MUST email the certificate of insurance to: insurance@lslbc.louisiana.gov

 

What is a Qualifying Party?

“Qualifying party” means a natural person designated by the contractor to represent the contractor for the purpose of complying with the provisions in the Contractors Licensing Law and Rules and Regulations including without limitation meeting the requirements for the initial license and/or any continuation thereof.  A qualifying party is the person who holds the exam scores, and is not the owner of the license unless he/she is a sole proprietor.

 

Who is eligible to be a Qualifying Party and what are the requirements?

 

 A qualifying party must meet one of the eligibility requirements and documentation must be provided to verify the eligibility of the qualifying party.  

The following are the eligibility requirements to be a Qualifying Party:

Sole Proprietor (Individual): No additional documentation required.
 .    
Spouse of Sole Proprietor (Individual):  Provide a copy of your marriage license.
     
Partner: Provide a copy of the partnership agreement in which you are listed as a partner.
     
Original Member of LLC: Provide a copy of the original Articles of Organization and Initial Report identifying you as a member. If these documents do not identify you as a member, you must also submit a copy of the operating agreement which identifies you as a member.
     
Original Incorporator: Provide a copy of the original Articles of Incorporation in which your name is listed as one of the original incorporators.  If your name is not listed in these documents you must also submit a copy of the initial report or by-laws which identify you as an incorporator/director.
     
Employee: You must be a full-time employee of the company for at least 120 days prior to submitting an application and provide evidence of employment. Proof of employment is as follows:
  If the employee is paid by DIRECT DEPOSIT:
   

Provide a letter from an officer of the company stating that you are a full-time employee and that you receive payroll by direct deposit.

Provide a register that shows gross wages, FICA payroll deductions for EACH payroll period for four consecutive months.

Provide one recent paycheck stub that verifies your check was directly deposited into your bank account or a computer printout that verifies the direct deposit transmittal information (an ACH Transmittal).

     
  If the employee is paid by COMPANY CHECK:
   

Provide a register that shows gross wages, FICA payroll deductions for EACH payroll period for four consecutive months.

Provide copies of each canceled payroll check (front and back). If your bank returns only small images of the canceled payroll checks, you must provide a copy of the page returned by the bank that shows each check has been cancelled. (Year-to-date, quarterly, and cumulative information is not acceptable.)

 

How many qualifying parties can a company have?

No limit is set on the number of qualifying parties a company may have.

Can a qualifying party be listed on more than one license?

An original owner of a company may be the qualifying party for any company that he/she owns. A qualifying party as an employee may only qualify for one (1) parent company and two (2) subsidiaries.

How do I register for an examination?

The Qualifying party must have a current Exam Approval letter containing your unique Exam ID numbers. Exam Approval letters are mailed to the Qualifying Party after a license has been applied for or a request to add a classification/qualifying party to an existing license has been submitted.

Do I have to pay the exam fees if I’m not required to take an exam?

An exam/administrative fee is required for each classification and for Business and Law.

This fee is required whether or not you have previously tested.

 

Am I required to register my company with the Louisiana Secretary of State?

If you are applying as an LLC, Corporation or Limited Partnership, you must register your company with the Louisiana Secretary of State.

 

Licensed Contractors General Questions

FAQs for Licensed Contractors

What must I do to maintain the license/registration once it is issued?

Once the license is issued the initial license certificate will be valid for one year, then you may renew your license for a one, two, or three year period.

  • A Renewal form will be mailed to the address on record approximately 30 days prior to the expiration date of the license.
  • For Residential, Mold Remediation and Home Improvement: You must maintain continuous general liability and workers’ compensation insurance coverage and provide current insurance certificates to the board upon expiration. Failure to submit these documents can cause the board to take action. Insurance certificate(s) should be emailed directly from the insurance agent to insurance@lslbc.louisiana.gov.
  • You must maintain a current address with this Board.
  • You must maintain a qualifying party for all classifications listed on your license.
  • For Residential contractors, you are required to complete a minimum of six hours of continuing education annually upon renewal by a board approved provider.  Proof of compliance must be provided to the Board.  Click HERE for exceptions.
How can I obtain a copy of my license/registration certificate?

Submit a written request by the owner/officer/member which can be mailed to 2525 Quail Dr., Baton Rouge, LA 70808 or fax to 888-510-0127.

Can I transfer my license from one company to another?

You cannot transfer a license from one company to another or from an individual to a company.

If the company or individual does not hold a license/registration with this licensing board and wish to bid and perform work in Louisiana under that name then the company or individual must apply for the license/registration and pay the required fees. However, if the eligible qualifying party has previously tested and passed examinations with this board then the qualifying party will not have to retake the required trade exam(s).

How do I report a name change?

 

 

Commercial, Residential and Mold Remediation name change fee is $100 (no cash accepted).
Home Improvement Registration name change fee is $40 (no cash accepted).

In the state of Louisiana, contractors must bid, contract, and perform in the exact name as shown on the current records (Section 109 of the Rules and Regulations of the Board).  Any changes made to a company’s name must be submitted to the Board, if unrelated to a merger or conversion.  The following items are required in order to complete a name change request:

 

LIMITED PARTNERSHIP, CORPORATION, OR LLC:

  1. Copy of the amendment to the charter reflecting registration of the name change with the Louisiana Secretary of State’s office (The LA Secretary of State’s office may be reached at (225) 925-4704.)
  2. Copy of the minutes of the Board of Directors’ meeting (if available – corporations only) authorizing the name change;
  3. Original current license/registration certificate;
  4. Check for the appropriate name change fee (see above);
  5. If you are applying for Residential or Home Improvement, email to Insurance@lslbc.louisiana.gov a revised original certificate of insurance for both general liability in the amount of $100,000 and workers’ compensation insurance in the new name; or
  6. If you are applying for Mold Remediation, email to Insurance@lslbc.louisiana.gov a revised original certificate of insurance for both general liability in the amount of $50,000 and workers’ compensation insurance in the new name; and
  7. Cover letter with license/registration number(s), contact person, and contact telephone number, including extension.

GENERAL PARTNERSHIP:

  1. Legal documentation signed by all partners consenting to the name change;
  2. Original current license/registration certificate;
  3. Check for the appropriate name change fee (see above);
  4. Cover letter with license/registration number(s), contact person, and contact telephone number, including extension.

       INDIVIDUAL (SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP):

  1. Legal documentation reflecting the name change such as a copy of a marriage license or court order changing the name of the sole proprietor;
  2. Original current license/registration certificate;
  3. Check for the appropriate name change fee (see above);
  4. Cover letter with license/registration number(s), contact person, and contact telephone number, including extension.
  5. You CANNOT change from a sole proprietorship to any type of business entity.

 

 

How do I report a conversion?

 

Commercial, Residential and Mold Remediation conversion fee is $100 (no cash accepted).
Home Improvement Registration conversion fee is $40 (no cash accepted).

Although there may be additional requirements, the following must be submitted before the license may be updated:

  1. Copy of the signed, executed plan of conversion;
  2. Must notify the Louisiana Secretary of State of the conversion;
  3. Copy of the amendment to the charter reflecting registration of the conversion with the Louisiana Secretary of State’s office [The LA Secretary of State’s office may be reached at (225) 925-4704.]  OR you may submit a copy of the La. Sec. of State’s “Unofficial Detail Record,” which may be accessed via the Sec. of State’s website at http://www.sos.la.gov, reflecting registration of the conversion;
  4. Copy of the Articles of Incorporation (if the converted entity is a corporation), the Articles of Organization (if the converted entity is an LLC), or a copy of the partnership agreement (if the converted entity is a partnership);
  5. Original current license/registration certificate;
  6. Check for the appropriate conversion fee (see above);
  7. A revised original certificate of insurance for both general liability in the amount of $100,000 and workers’ compensation insurance in the amount of $50,000 in the new name (required of residential contractors only); or
  8. A revised original certificate of insurance required of mold remediation contractors only and
  9. Cover letter with license number(s), contact person, and contact telephone number, including extension.
 
 

 

How do I report a merger?

 

Commercial, Residential and Mold Remediation merger fee is $100 (no cash accepted).
Home Improvement Registration merger fee is $40 (no cash accepted).

Although there may be additional requirements, the following must be submitted before the license may be updated:

  1. Copy of the signed, executed plan of merger;
  2. Must notify the Louisiana Secretary of State of the merger;
  3. Copy of the amendment to the charter reflecting registration of the merger with the Louisiana Secretary of State’s office [The LA Secretary of State’s office may be reached at (225) 925-4704.]  OR you may submit a copy of the La. Sec. of State’s “Unofficial Detail Record,” which may be accessed via the Secretary of State’s website at www.sos.la.gov, reflecting registration of the merger;
  4. If the surviving entity is not a licensed business entity with the state of Louisiana, the surviving entity must submit a new application;
  5. Check for the appropriate merger fee (see above);
  6. Cover letter with license number(s), contact person, and contact telephone number, including extension.

 

 
 

Back to Top

 

How do I report an ownership change for the company?

 

 

Commercial, Residential and Mold Remediation ownership change fee is $100 (no cash accepted).
Home Improvement Registration ownership change fee is $40 (no cash accepted).

The purchaser must have purchased/assumed all assets and liabilities; otherwise, a new application is required.

Although there may be additional requirements, the following must be submitted before the license may be updated:

  1. Copy of the signed, executed change of ownership document (sale, divorce decree, donation, will, transfer of ownership, etc.);
  2. Written verification of the status of the qualifying party(ies);
  3. Check for the appropriate ownership change fee (see above);
  4. Cover letter with license/registration number(s), contact person, and contact telephone number, including extension.
 
 

 

How do I report a change in a qualifying party?

In accordance with Section 103 of the Rules and Regulations of the Board, when the qualifying party terminates employment with the licensee, the licensee must notify the board, in writing, within 30 days of the disassociation and another party must qualify within 60 days of the disassociation.

If your firm has undergone a qualifying party change, although there may be additional requirements, the following must be submitted before the license may be updated:

  1. Submit the “Letter of Disassociation of a Qualifying Party” form notifying the board of the disassociation of the qualifying party signed by an authorized representative of the firm along with the exam fees stated on the form. Click HERE to download the form, also;
  2. Submit the “Application for Qualifying Party” form which has been signed and notarized. Click HERE to download the form, also;
  3. Submit payroll or ownership documentation to verify the eligibility of the qualifying party. Click here for qualifying party eligibility requirements.

After we process the required documentation and fees, we will send the testing information in the mail if an exam is required.

 

How do I add a classification to an existing commercial license?

>

The following must be submitted to add a classification to the license:

Submit the completed “Adding a Classification to an Existing License” form along with the exams fees as stated on the form. The form must be signed by an authorized representative of the firm. Click HERE to download the form. 

If the individual taking the trade exam isn’t currently a Qualifying Party for the company:

  • Submit a completed “Application for Qualifying Party” form, which must be signed and notarized. Click here to download the form.
  • Submit payroll or ownership documentation to verify the eligibility of the qualifying party. Click here for qualifying party eligibility requirements.

After we process the required documentation and fees, we will send the testing information in the mail if an exam is required for the classification. The request to add a classification to your license will then be submitted to the Board for approval at the next available board meeting.

Note: There is no limit to the number of classifications a company can add to their commercial license; however, you may not add the residential or mold remediation classification to a commercial license. You will need to submit a mold remediation or residential license application for these classifications.

How do I add a qualifying party to an existing license?
  1. Submit the “Adding a Qualifying Party to an Existing License” form along with the exam fees stated on the form. Click here to download the form.
  2. Submit the “Application for Qualifying Party” form which has been signed and notarized. Click here to download the form.
  3. Submit payroll or ownership documentation to verify the eligibility of the qualifying party.  Click here for qualifying party eligibility requirements.

After we process the required documentation and fees, we will send the testing information in the mail if an exam is required.

I am applying for reciprocity with another state and the other state has requested that I have the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors fill out their license verification form. What must I do to get this form filled out? How do I verify my license using their form?

Click HERE for information on how to verify your license.

How do I report a change of address, phone or fax number, email address or website address?

If you need to report any of these changes, click here.

How do I report a change of address, email, phone number, etc. for a Qualifying Party?

click HERE to view the form.

 

 

Last updated: July 14, 2016

Loading
Translate »