

## **Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors**

Licensed contractor . . . It's the Law!



"Hurricane season and other extreme weather events bring the potential for devastating property damage. Unlicensed contractors often solicit work after a storm to take advantage of consumers who need repairs. The Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors is here to help consumers recognize fraudulent contractors and take the necessary steps to protect themselves."

- Brad Hassert, Executive Director



## **Don't Become a Victim Twice**

"Lightning never strikes the same place twice" . . . or does it?

#### Check out your contractor!

Remember, a contractor must be licensed or registered to bid, contract and/or perform work in the state of Louisiana!

#### **Three Ways to Verify Licensure:**

- Search online at <u>www.lslbc.gov</u>;
- Download our new LSLBC mobile app <u>here</u>; or
- 3. Text-to-Verify at toll free 1-855-999-7896. For more information about our Text-to-Verify, click <a href="here">here</a>.



## Hiring a Louisiana licensed or registered contractor?

- Get the contractor's name, business address, and their license or registration number
- Verify the license or registration number with the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors
- Get at least three bids for the project prior to selecting a contractor
- Require proof of active general liability insurance and worker's compensation
- Require a written contract signed by both parties (consumer and contractor) and agree upon:
  - the estimated dates of start and completion of the project;
  - a description of the work to be performed; and
  - the total dollar amount to be paid to the contractor upon completion of work
- Never pay a large downpayment
- Never pay for construction not yet completed

# When is a contractor's registration or license required?

Contractors <u>must</u> be registered and/or licensed in Louisiana before bidding, contracting and/or performing work in Louisiana. *All amounts include cost of materials <u>and</u> labor.* 

#### HOME IMPROVEMENT REGISTRATION

Required for home improvement projects with a value exceeding \$7,500 but not in excess of \$75,000; proof of general liability insurance and workers' compensation coverage required

#### RESIDENTIAL BUILDER LICENSE

Required for new residential construction projects or home improvement projects with a value exceeding \$75,000

#### **MOLD REMEDIATION LICENSE**

Required for mold remediation projects with a value of \$7,500 or more

#### **COMMERCIAL LICENSE**

Required on commercial projects with a value of \$50,000 or more - except for electrical, mechanical, and plumbing work, which requires a license for projects with a value exceeding \$10,000, and hazardous materials work with a value of \$1.00 or more.



# Avoid costly delays and legal issues

The Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors has the authority to place a STOP WORK order on your jobsite or project if you hire unlicensed contractors or subcontractors.

REMEMBER: Substantial monetary penalties can be levied against unlicensed, unregistered, and fraudulent contractors.

## Our compliance team is ready. Are you?

### Need to file a complaint?

- Website go to <a href="www.lslbc.gov">www.lslbc.gov</a> and file an online complaint form; or
- Email email your complaint to <a href="mailto:complaints@lslbc.gov">complaints@lslbc.gov</a>



