
Weathering the Storm



Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors
Licensed contractor . . . It’s the Law!

“Hurricane season and other extreme weather events bring the potential for devastating property
damage. Unlicensed contractors often solicit work after a storm to take advantage of consumers 
who need repairs. The Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors is here to help consumers 
recognize fraudulent contractors and take the necessary steps to protect themselves.”
- Michael McDuff , Executive Director

For more information, visit our website at www.lacontractor.org.

http://www.lacontractor.org/


“Lightning never strikes the same place twice” . . . or does it? 

Check out your contractor!

Remember, a contractor must be licensed or registered to bid, 
contract and/or perform work in the state of Louisiana!

Three Ways to Verify Licensure:
1. Search online at www.lacontractor.org;
2. Download our new LSLBC mobile app here; or
3. (NEW) Text-to-Verify at toll free 1-855-999-7896
For more information about our NEW Text-to-Verify, click here

Don’t Become a Victim Twice

http://www.lacontractor.org/
http://www.lslbc.louisiana.gov/mobile-app/
http://www.lslbc.louisiana.gov/mobile-app/


Hiring a Louisiana licensed or registered contractor?

• Get the contractor’s name, business address, and their license or registration
number

• Verify the license or registration number with the Louisiana State Licensing Board 
for Contractors

• Get at least three bids for the project prior to selecting a contractor
• Require proof of general liability insurance and worker’s compensation
• Require a written contract signed by both parties (consumer and contractor) and 

agree upon:
 the estimated dates of start and completion of the project;
 a description of the work to be performed; and
 the total dollar amount to be paid to the contractor upon completion of work

• Never pay a down payment that exceeds 10% of total cost
• Never pay for construction not yet completed



Contractors must be registered and/or licensed in Louisiana before bidding, contracting and/or performing work in Louisiana.
All amounts include cost of materials and labor.

HOME IMPROVEMENT REGISTRATION
Required for home improvement projects with a value exceeding $7,500 but not in excess of
$75,000; proof of general liability insurance and workers’ compensation coverage required

RESIDENTIAL BUILDER LICENSE
Required for new residential construction projects or home improvement projects with a value 
exceeding $75,000

MOLD REMEDIATION LICENSE
Required for mold remediation projects with a value of $1.00 or more

COMMERCIAL LICENSE
Required on commercial projects with a value of $50,000 or more

When is a contractor’s registration or license required?



Contractors must be registered and/or licensed in Louisiana before bidding, contracting and/or performing work in Louisiana.
All amounts include cost of materials and labor.

ELECTRICAL/MECHANICAL/PLUMBING CONTRACTORS:

• Electrical/Mechanical/Plumbing contractors are required to hold a license with the 
appropriate classification for all projects exceeding $10,000, including labor and materials

HAZARDOUS MATERIALS CONTRACTORS AND MOLD REMEDIATION CONTRACTORS

• Hazardous Material Contractors (examples: Asbestos, Hazardous Waste, Lead Based Paint 
Abatement/Removal, Underground Storage Tanks) are required to hold a license with the appropriate 
classification for all projects with a value of $1.00 or more, including labor and materials

• Mold Remediation Contractors are required to hold a mold remediation license for all mold 
remediation projects with a value of $1.00 or more, including labor and materials

When is a contractor’s registration or license required?



Avoid costly delays
and legal issues
The Louisiana State Licensing Board for 
Contractors has the authority to place a STOP 
WORK order on your jobsite or project if you 
hire unlicensed contractors or subcontractors.

REMEMBER: Substantial monetary 
penalties can be levied against 
unlicensed, unregistered, and fraudulent 
contractors.



Our compliance team is ready. Are you?
Need to file a complaint?

• Website - go to www.lacontractor.org and to file an online complaint form;
• Mobile App – use the “LA Contractor” mobile app to file a complaint; or
• Email - email your complaint to complaints@lslbc.louisiana.gov

http://www.lacontractor.org/
mailto:complaints@lslbc.louisiana.gov


Obtain an application 
for contracting in 

Louisiana by
downloading the 

appropriate form at: 
www.lacontractor.org

http://www.lacontractor.org/
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