About the LSLBC

The Louisiana State Licensing Board for
Contractors (LSLBC) was created in 1956 by Act
233, and is governed under Title 37:2150-2192
of the Louisiana Revised Statutes, Chapter 24.

The LSLBC serves to protect the health, safety
and welfare of the general public and promotes
professionalism and integrity of the construction
industry. Through its licensing, enforcement,
and public awareness efforts, the LSLBC is

also a resource that educates contractors and

consumers alike.

Download our
free mobile app,
LA Contractor, on
your Apple or
Android device!

Need more information?
Contact us:

Toll-free: 800-256-1392

www.lacontractor.org

Find us on Facebook at
www.facebook.com/LSLBC

“Properly licensed and
qualified contractors...
It’s the law!”

This public document is published at a total cost of $692.50.
Five thousand (5,000) copies of this public document were
published in this first printing at a cost of $692.50. The total
cost of all printings of this document including reprints is
$692.50. This document was published by OTS-Production
Support Services, 627 North 4th Street, Baton Rouge, LA
70802 for the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors
to educate the public in accordance with standards for printing
by State Agencies established in R.S. 43:31. Printing of this
material was purchased in accordance with the provisions of
Title 43 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes.
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Licensing
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Contractors in
Louisiana

LAR.S.Title 37:2150-2192




Licensing requirements for contractors in Louisiana

Residential License

Residential construction or home improvement
projects exceeding $75,000 must be bid or
performed by a licensed Residential Building
Contractor.

Residential subcontractors who bid or perform
work in one of the specialty areas listed below
must be licensed for that specialty when the work
exceeds $7,500 (including labor and materials)
on any new residential project with no more than
four incorporated or attached dwelling units.

« Residential Pile Driving

» Residential Foundations (Including Forming;
Steel Reinforcement Placement; and Concrete
Placement and Finishing)

o Residential Framing

o Residential Roofing

o Residential Masonry/Stucco

o Residential Swimming Pools

Subcontractors performing work under any
specialty classification above for homeowners
who are building their own home must be
licensed for that specialty.

Applications must include:

o A financial statement athdavit showing a
minimum of $10,000 net worth, current
within 12 months of application

o Completion of the Business and Law course

o Passing score on the trade exam, if applicable

o Proof of general liability insurance with a
minium amount of $100,000

« Proof of workers’ compensation coverage

Commercial License

Commercial projects with a value of $50,000 or
more must be bid or performed by a properly

licensed commercial contractor when the property

is to be used for commercial purposes.

Commercial purpose is any construction project
except residential structures with no more than
four incorporated or attached dwelling units.
Subcontracts with this value must be performed
by a properly licensed subcontractor.

Exceptions:

o Electrical/Mechanical/Plumbing require a
license for projects exceeding $10,000

o Asbestos, Hazardous Waste, Lead-Based
Paint Abatement/Removal, Underground
Storage Tanks require a license for projects
with a value of one dollar or more

Applications must include:

« A financial statement affidavit showing a
minimum of $10,000 net worth, current
within 12 months of application

o Completion of the Business and Law course

o Passing score on the trade exam, if applicable

Home Improvement
Registration

Home improvement projects with a value
exceeding $7,500 but not in excess of $75,000
must be bid or performed by a home improvement
registrant or a licensed contractor.

Applications must include:

o Proof of general liability insurance with a
minimum amount of $100,000

» Proof of workers’ compensation coverage

Mold Remediation License

Mold remediation projects with a value of one
dollar or more must be bid or performed by a
licensed contractor.

Applications must include:

o A financial statement affidavit showing a
minimum of $10,000 net worth, current
within 12 months of application

o Completion of the Business and Law course

» Completion of 24 hours of approved mold
remediation and mold assessment training

« Proof of general liability insurance with a
minimum amount of $50,000

o Proof of workers’ compensation coverage



