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Reciprocity Agreements 

and Examination 

Endorsement Agreements 

These agreements between the Louisiana State Licensing 
Board for Contractors and Boards from other states allow 

an out-of-state contractor to receive credit in Louisiana for 
approved classifications held with their reciprocal Board Contents 

without taking the Louisiana trade exam. 
Table of Contents 1 

In addition, the agreements allow out-of-state contractors Introduction 1 

to be exempted from the statutory 60-day waiting period Out -of-State Contractors 2 

between the date of receipt of the application and actual After Applying 2 

license issuance. Verification Form 3 

Reciprocity by State 4 

Contractors seeking to work in Louisiana based on these 
agreements must obtain a Louisiana state license before 

bidding, signing contracts or performing work. 

The following information includes: 

• an explanation of the reciprocity process

• the verification form

• a chart which indicates the classifications for
which a reciprocal candidate can apply. We’re on the Web!

www.lacontractor.org
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For Out-of-State Contractors Applying in 

Louisiana Based on Reciprocity or Examination 

Endorsement Agreements 

FOR  M OR E 

I NFORMATION 

R EGARDI N G 

R ECI P R OCAL 

R EQUESTS FOR 

OUT-OF-STATE 

APPLI CATIONS 

FOR A 

LOUISIANA 

LICENSE 

CONTACT: 

The contractor must: 

 Not have been sanctioned by the Board of the reciprocal state for the past three years

for violations of their contractor licensing laws.

 Meet all other requirements for licensure by the Louisiana State Licensing Board for

Contractors, as follows:

a. Submit:

• an original completed, signed and notarized Commercial and/or

Residential  application, as applicable. The qualifying party must be the

same qualifying party as for the reciprocal state. (If the contractor

currently holds a Louisiana license, they will instead need to submit an

Adding a Classification to an Existing License form, and/or an Adding a

Qualifying Party to an Existing License form, and/or an Application for

Qualifying Party, as applicable.) 

• all of the required application, examination, and/or other fees as

explained on the application(s) and/or form(s).

b. Send the “Request for Verification of License” form included in this document to

the Board for the state in which you are currently licensed.  Afterwards, send the 

completed form or their verification letter to this Board. Please note that some states 

may choose to send the verification directly to the Louisiana board via email.

After Applying in Louisiana 

Once we have received the application and all required documents and fees, and if 

the company/qualifier is eligible for reciprocity, then your reciprocity request will be 

considered by the Board at the next scheduled Board Meeting. If approved by the 

Board, your Qualifying Party will NOT have to take the trade exam, and/or you will 

be exempted from the 60-day waiting period for out- of-state contractors. 

The Business and Law course must be taken by all applicants before the license 

can be issued. After we receive your application, you will be sent instructions on 

how to take the course, which will be taken remotely at your own computer.

mlemoine@lslbc.louisiana.gov

Michele Lemoine
1.800.256.1392 

225.765.2301  x1242
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State of Louisiana 

State Licensing Board for Contractors 
600 North Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802        1-800-256-1392      Fax 1-888-510-0130

REQUEST FOR VERIFICATION OF 

Instructions to Applicant: Complete the information in the section immediately below only and submit this form to 
the Board for the state in which you are licensed. Then return the original signed copy of this form to the address 
above, along with the completed Commercial and/or Residential Application, or with a completed Adding A 
Classification to an Existing License form, and/or an Adding a Qualifying Party to an Existing License form, and/or an 
Application for Qualifying Party, as applicable. 

TO BE FILLED OUT BY APPLICANT 

Company Name/Individual Name: 

Address: City: State:  Zip Code: 

Telephone #:  Fax #:  E-Mail Address: 

Name of Contact: 

VERIFICATION OF LICENSE 

Instructions for Verifying State: The above named applicant has submitted an application for a contractor’s license with this Board. 
Please complete the following and return this form to the applicant. If additional space is needed, please use additional pages. 

Company/Individual Name:   

License #                    Type of Firm: Corporation LLC     Partnership             Sole Proprietor  

Original Issuance Date:                    Expiration Date:     Current Status(Current/Inactive/Expired) 

If Sole Proprietor/Partnership, State of Primary Residence:  State of Original Incorporation If Corp./LLC, 

Disciplinary Action?  Yes           No  If Yes, Please Explain: 

Classification(s) Held: 

Legal Name of EACH Person Passing 

Trade Exam in your state for this 
company. If no exam was taken in your 

state for a classification, please explain the 

reason, and show the name of the 

qualifying party(ies). 

Trade Exams Passed 

Classification 
Date 

Passed 

Exam Originally 

Developed By 

(e.g. NAI, 

Block, SBCCI, 
ICC, Prometriic 

In-House, etc.)

 

Score 

Signature: 

Agency: 

Title: Date: 

Telephone #: 

STATE 

SEAL
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Examination Endorsement and Reciprocity Agreements with other States 
The Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors has examination endorsement agreements or reciprocity agreements with 
the following state Boards. In general, contractors licensed in Louisiana can have their qualifying party receive credit for exams 
for equivalent classifications with the Boards shown below and can be exempted from the 60-day waiting period, provided 
that: 

 For the past three years, they have not been sanctioned for violations by the reciprocal Board.

 They meet all other requirements for licensure by the Board to which they are applying for a license.

Credit Given For

Board 
Major 

Classification   Specialties   Electrical   Mechanical

Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors Yes  All    Yes   Yes 

Alabama Board of Heating & Air Conditioning 
Contractors *  HVACR  *   * 

Alabama Electrical Contractors Board *   *   Yes   * 

Alabama Home Builders Licensure Board 

Residential 
Building   *   *   * 

Contractor 
Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board All    All    *   * 

  California Contractors State License Board (CSLB) **          Building 
   Construction   None   No   No 

Georgia State Licensing Board for Residential and 
General Contractors 

Building 
    Construction, 

 Residential  *   *   * 
      Contractor 

Georgia Construction Industry Licensing Board No   *   Yes   Yes 

Kentucky, Division of Housing, Buildings and Construction  *  *  Yes  No 

Mississippi Board of Contractors All   All   Yes   Yes 

Nevada State Contractors Board*** Building Construction      Some    Yes   Yes 

North Carolina Board of Examiners of Electrical 
Contractors *   *   Yes   * 

North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors 
        Building 
   Construction 

 No   *   * 

  Industrial Piping, 
Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board   *        HVAC,        Yes   Yes 

     Refrigeration 

South Carolina Contractor’s Board All   Some          No   Yes 

South Carolina Residential Builder’s Commission 

Residential 
Building   *   *   * 

Contractor 

  Tennessee Board for Licensing General Contractors All   All   Yes   Yes 

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation *   No  Yes   No 

Utah Construction Trades Bureau Division of 
Occupational & Professional Licensing 

     All   All   No   Yes 

* The named Board does not hold classification(s) of this nature or requires licensure from another Board with which the
   Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors has no agreement; therefore, we cannot give credit for that type of work. 

** Must have held the corresponding state license for the past five years.  
*** Must have held the corresponding state license for the past four years. 

NOTE: The Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors accepts examination scores from the  NASCLA (National Association of State 
Contractors Licensing Agencies) Accredited Examination for Commercial General Building Contractors, and for the NASCLA
Accredited Trade Examination for Electrical Contractors. Qualifying Party candidates with such scores do not need to meet the
normal reciprocity requirements for credit for Building Construction or for Electrical Work (Statewide), but must access the NASCLA
Examination Database at https://ned.nascla.org/ to purchase and send the NASCLA passed transcript to the Louisiana State Licensing
Board for Contractors.                                                                                                                                              Revised 9.26.2019                     4 
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