Click HERE to access the Contractor Search, then choose “Search by Type of Contractor” and select either: Commercial, Residential, Mold Remediation or Home Improvement from the drop down of options.
General Licensing Questions
Yes, the LSLBC has enacted a rule as follows: §129. Licensure for Individuals with Military Training and Experience, and Military Spouses A. The board shall issue a license or registration to a military-trained applicant to allow the applicant to lawfully act as a contractor, residential building contractor, home improvement contractor, mechanical … Continued
There are no continuing education requirements for commercial, mold, or home improvement contractors/registrants. There are continuing education requirements for residential building contractors. A residential building contractor is required to complete a minimum of six (6) hours of continuing education annually by a board-approved provider (click HERE to view providers). The contractor will maintain their … Continued
When determining if a contractor’s license is needed, the law requires that the cost of labor and materials be combined to assess the total project amount (no matter who supplies the materials). If the total project amount exceeds $50,000 for commercial projects, $10,000 for plumbing, electrical & HVAC, and $7,500 for residential projects, a contractor’s license is required. LSLBC … Continued
If you are performing plumbing work valued at $10,000 or more including labor and materials, the law requires that you also hold a commercial plumbing license with the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors.
A Commercial license does not allow you to build a single residential home. A Residential license with the Residential Building Contractor classification is required for new home construction.
All bids, contracts, and advertisements must be in your properly licensed name. If you use a DBA, you must contract in your properly licensed name but you may add the name of your DBA behind the licensed name. Example 1: If John Doe Smith holds a license in his individual name, he can bid, … Continued
Registration with the Louisiana Secretary of State’s Office does not qualify you to perform construction work in Louisiana. Being registered with the Louisiana Secretary of State’s office only gives your company the authority to operate a business in Louisiana and also generally for state sales tax purposes. A Louisiana state contractor’s license/registration is required … Continued
An occupational license is NOT a contractor’s license. An occupational license only gives you or your company the authority to operate a business in that city/parish and it’s generally for local sales tax purposes. A Louisiana state contractor’s license/registration is required if you contract, bid, or perform work where to total project value including … Continued
Louisiana State Contractors’ licensing law allows an owner to build their primary residence without a license. You must live in this home. You cannot build a home to rent or sell without a license. Louisiana State Contractors’ licensing law also allows an owner to build structures adjacent to their primary residence without a license, such … Continued