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Types of Licenses Regulated by the LSLBC 
 

Baton Rouge — It is the purpose of the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (LSLBC) to 
protect the public by regulating commercial, industrial, governmental and residential contractors who bid 
on or perform work in Louisiana. The LSLBC offers three types of licenses and one registration: a 
commercial license, a residential building license, a mold remediation license and a home improvement 
registration. 
 
Contractors who bid or work on projects including, but not limited to, commercial, industrial and 
government projects with a value of $50,000 or more must have a commercial license. In addition, any 
contractor who bids or performs work on electrical or mechanical projects with a value of $10,000 or 
more must have a commercial license with the relevant classification requirements.  
 
A residential building license is required for residential projects with a value that exceeds $75,000. 
However, a construction project consisting of residential homes where the contractor has a single 
contract for the construction of more than two homes within the same subdivision shall be deemed a 
commercial undertaking.  
 
Contractors who bid or work on any project for hazardous materials or mold remediation with a value of 
$1.00 or more must hold a mold remediation license. 
 
The LSLBC requires that all home improvement contractors be registered or licensed with the Board in 
order to perform services in excess of $1,500, but not in excess of $75,000. Any person performing home 
improvement projects in excess of $75,000 must have a residential building license.  
 
Further, home improvement registrants, residential contractors and mold remediation contractors are 
required to furnish proof of general liability insurance to the LSLBC in a minimum amount of $100,000, 
as well as proof of workers’ compensation coverage. 
 
Check for proper licensure by visiting our website, www.lslbc.louisiana.gov, or call 225-765-2301.  
 
  

“Properly licensed and qualified contractors…It’s the Law!”  
  

For questions or further information, please visit our website at www.lslbc.louisiana.gov or 
contact us by phone at 225-765-2301 Ext. 213 or send an email to 

newsletter@lslbc.louisiana.gov.  
  
 


